Beth’s Update


My wiki project is well underway. I have established the basic structure. I am trying to be careful to provide links to help users navigate, and also to provide useful information on how to use the wiki. We are likely going to ask users to create a pbwiki account (identity) to use the wiki. This will allow us to invite them to use the wiki without giving out passwords.

I was able to give a short presentation regarding wikis at a D2L Users Group meeting last month. There were about 8-10 faculty in attendance. I gave them a handout explaining the wiki and asked for feedback. One question during the meeting was “What’s the difference between a wiki and a blog?” Hey-I know that!

I have not been able to “release” the wiki yet because we are in the process of getting the site upgraded (adding access rights and the ability to lock and hide pages). To do that I had to transfer administrative rights to my boss, then have her do the upgrade.

Anyway, we should have that taken care of soon and then I will contact a select group of faculty to do some pilot testing of the site. The intended purpose of the site is to encourage collaboration and resource sharing.

It is a bit challenging to create the wiki for someone else. I have had to adjust my plans somewhat to fit my boss’s vision. However, I am still happy with what is happening and hope it will be useful to faculty and staff who are teaching or supporting online instruction.

Thanks! Beth

2 Comments

Filed under Class Discussion, Courses, Wikis

2 responses to “Beth’s Update

  1. Jenn Beyer

    This is a useful resource! I would like our IT folks to develop something similar instead of putting everything on our intranet. Besides, it truly can grow from the experience of the end-users who know what really works (and nifty shortcuts)! Have you been able to gauge any reaction from faculty/staff yet?

  2. beth

    I haven’t “released” the wiki yet. We are waiting for a purchase order to go through so we can upgrade the wiki and gain access controls. Soon, I hope!

Leave a Reply

